Canada: Visa Waiver for 13 New Countries

3 min read


Morocco, Argentina, and Thailand are among the international locations recently chosen by Canada to be a part of the Visa Waiver and Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) packages.

Canada’s Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, Sean Fraser, held a distinctive press conference at Winnipeg International Airport on Tuesday, June 6, to announce great news for travellers from sure countries.

Suitable vacationers from 13 new nations will now be capable to fly in this article without the need of a visa (…) and embark on unforgettable adventures, check out our numerous landscapes, reconnect with loved ones and pals, and immerse them selves in our vibrant culture,” explained the Minister.

In a press launch, the Canadian federal government states that as of June 6, 2023, citizens of the pursuing 13 nations around the world will be capable to vacation to Canada without having having to use for a visa in advance of departure:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay

To enter Canada without having an entry visa, citizens of these 13 countries should have legitimate passports.

In addition to a passport or visa waiver, tourists will have to utilize for an Electronic Journey Authorization (ETA) just before departure.

This ETA can be applied as a result of the federal government portal or through specialized visa organizations.

To take a look at Canada or go by way of one of its airports without having a visa, you need to attain an Electronic Journey Authorization by paying C$7 (approximately €5). The EST is legitimate for five yrs and permits multiple visits of up to 180 days to Canada.

A noteworthy issue applies to citizens of the 13 new nations around the world included in the AVE application: tourists should have acquired a Canadian visa inside the final ten a long time or maintain a valid U.S. visa issued for uses other than immigration.

Canada at present exempts travelers and company travelers from the 67 nations around the world detailed underneath from the visa need and calls for an AVE to enter the nation. Some nationalities, this sort of as Argentina, Costa Rica, Thailand, and other people, are visa-exempt for entry into Canada by air only.

Other nationalities do not need a visa if they enter Canada by land or sea (e.g., from the U.S. by automobile, bus, train, or boat, which includes cruise ships).


Resource hyperlink

You May Also Like

More From Author