David Henry Seems to be to Reach A further Olympia Milestone at the 2023 Masters Olympia Contest

3 min read


The bodybuilding pioneer looks to include to his legacy in Romania.

The 2023 Masters Olympia is scheduled to be held on the weekend of Aug. 26-27, 2023 in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. There will be a great deal of record produced at this level of competition. It is the initially time that the Men’s Open Masters Olympia will be held due to the fact Dexter Jackson gained the title in 2012. For the other nine divisions, it will be their initial Masters Olympia competitiveness, including the 212 division.

One of the males in that 212 lineup is David Henry, who is aware a good deal about building Olympia heritage. He’s the initial Olympia winner in the heritage of the 212, which dates again to even prior to the excess weight cap was 212 lbs.

Additional from Breaking Muscle mass:

Henry was a aspect of the lineup for the inaugural Olympia 202 Showdown in 2008, when the bodyweight cap for the division was 202 kilos. That contest in Las Vegas, NV was the 1st time due to the fact 1979 that the Olympia experienced two unique pounds lessons. Frank Zane received the lightweight and all round Mr. Olympia titles that year, ahead of the courses were being reunited in 1980 — the 12 months Arnold Schwarzenegger arrived out of retirement to acquire his seventh Mr. Olympia title.

When Henry received that inaugural Olympia 202 title, he faced a lineup of contenders that provided two eventual bodybuilding greats. Kevin English concluded in 2nd position — he would go on to win the subsequent three 202 Olympia titles from 2009-2011. Flex Lewis placed 3rd in 2008 and he would ultimately overtake English to start his possess string of 7 titles at the time the weight cap was lifted to 212 in 2012.

Henry never ever reclaimed his title following getting rid of it in 2009, but he’s been a mainstay in the division in the yrs due to the fact. As an lively competitor, Henry most a short while ago positioned third at the 2022 Japan Professional and earned his most new contest victory at the 2021 Legion Sports Fest Pro. At 48 yrs aged, he’s qualified to be in the 2023 Masters Olympia 212 lineup with its 40-yr-aged minimum amount.

Extra from Breaking Muscle mass:

The full 18-guy lineup for the 2023 Masters Olympia 212 is down below.

  • Anwar Darwish Ali
  • Masoom Butt
  • Fernando Noronha de Almeida
  • Ricardo Plata Duran
  • Jim Everton
  • Derik Farnsworth
  • Ahmed Fawzi
  • David Henry
  • Milton A. Martinez
  • Zohir Mihoubi
  • Bola Ojex
  • Jicheng Qian
  • Jonni Shreve
  • Steve Thayer
  • Ryan Walters
  • Wayne Williams
  • Jeff Williamson
  • Hidetada Yamagishi

Whoever wins this contest will make history as the very first Masters Olympia 212 winner, but Henry has even more heritage using on this coveted championship. The only competitor to have gained both the Masters Olympia and Mr. Olympia titles is Dexter Jackson, who also won the Sandow trophy in 2008 — the exact year Henry gained his Olympia title.

If the United States Air Power veteran manages to consider the win in Romania, his legacy in the sport may perhaps be even additional secure than it now is.

Featured Graphic: @davidhenry_ifbbpro on Instagram


Resource link

You May Also Like

More From Author